Lusaka Central has 10 of the 116 polling stations.

The counting of ballot papers following yesterday’s general elections on August 12 has continued in Lusaka District.

Sandra Manyangwe, the returning officer for the Lusaka Central Constituency, has revealed results from 10 of the 116 polling stations thus far.

Ms Manyangwe revealed that of the 16 presidential candidates, five received votes, including Fred M’membe of the Socialist Party, Chishala Kateka of the Heritage Party, and Democratic Party Harry Kalaba, who received 21 votes.

She disclosed that the Movement for Multiparty Democracy’s Nevers Mumba got 22, while Patriotic Front’s Edgar Lungu got 1,854 making the UPND’s Hakainde Hichilema to lead with 3,185 votes.

Ms Manyangwe also announced results at parliamentary level from 11 of the 116 polling stations.

She disclosed that MMD’s Makwakwa Phosie scored 36 votes, Mtandu Mashindi of DP got 38, Mwila Simon of Socialist party scored 97, while Mlewa Msaiwale an independent got 212 and Margaret Mwanakatwe of PF got 1,946 making Haimbe Mulambo of UPND to score 3,113 votes.

Meanwhile results at Mayoral level from 10 polling stations out of 116 indicate that Chilufya Tayali of Economic and Equity party got 323 votes, Chombela Clergy of the DP scored 47 votes while Musonda Rabbeca of the Socialist party got 34 votes and Chitangala Chilando of PF got 1,895 making Nyasulu Victor of the UPND to lead with 2,759 votes.

 131 Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *